Set off from square next to the river at Tamshui MRT station.
Tamsui used to be called Huwei, a name derived from the ancient word hoba that means “river outlet.” Tamsui is located in the northwest of the Taipei basin, surrounded by mountains, rivers, and beautiful scenery. Fort San Domingo is a historic site in Tamsui, built by the Spaniards in 1626 and restored by the Dutch. Because the Taiwanese people called the Dutch people “Hongmao” (people with red hair), the fort is called Hongmao Fort in Chinese.The fort is more than 300 years old and is designated a 1st grade historic site.
Nearby there are Old Oxford School, the residence of Dr. Mackay on missionary early and Tamsui College. These old buildings are mostly well preserved. Walking among these buildings, it feels like you have gone back in time. Visitors can enjoy the old streets, the cool breeze, the flower/trees planted by residents and the relaxing atmosphere.
In 1891, the Qing court’s Celestial Master predicted that a big disaster would occur and, at the suggestion of local gentry, chose Chenghuang Temple at Hsinchu as the site of the disaster elimination ceremony; so the temple was designated a provincial- level Chanchiang temple, the only one in Taiwan at the time. The wood carvings in the temple were done by master Wang Yi-shun and are well worth a look.